# Recipe Keeper vs Paprika

Recipe Keeper and Paprika both save recipes from websites, plan meals and build a grocery list. Pick Recipe Keeper if you want to pay once, you have family on Android or Windows, or you have a big backlog of paper recipes. Pick Paprika if you want to pay once, you cook with an Apple Watch or on Windows, or your library already lives in Paprika. Paprika 4 is in beta and says premium features will need a subscription afterwards.

https://getsaucepan.com/compare/recipe-keeper-vs-paprika · checked November 4, 2026 · "not found" means we did not see it on the app's own pages, not that it lacks it.

## At a glance

### Recipe Keeper
- Price: Free download. Pro Upgrade is $19.99, once, on iPhone and iPad. The Mac version is $29.99. Each platform is a separate purchase. (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711)
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows and Mac. (https://recipekeeperonline.com/)
- Sync: Syncs across iPhone, iPad, Android, PC and Mac. Other platforms need their own purchase. (https://recipekeeperonline.com/)
- Saves from: Hundreds of recipe websites, other recipe apps, and scanned cookbooks, handwritten recipes and PDFs with OCR. (https://recipekeeperonline.com/)
- Last App Store update: version 3.46.2, April 9, 2026

### Paprika
- Price: iPhone and iPad $4.99, once. Mac $29.99. Each version is sold separately. (https://www.paprikaapp.com/)
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac, Android and Windows. (https://www.paprikaapp.com/)
- Sync: Paprika Cloud Sync, its own account, for recipes, grocery lists and meal plans. (https://www.paprikaapp.com/)
- Saves from: Any website, through its built-in browser and bookmarklet. Saving from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and YouTube is in the Paprika 4 open beta, not in Paprika 3. (https://www.paprikaapp.com/news/2026/09/28/paprika-4-is-now-in-open-beta/)
- Last App Store update: version 3.8.5, July 16, 2026

## Feature by feature

- Works in ChatGPT: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Works in Claude: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Other AI apps via MCP: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Interactive cards in the chat: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Save from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube: Recipe Keeper yes (https://recipekeeperonline.com/); Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/news/2026/09/28/paprika-4-is-now-in-open-beta/)
- Save from websites: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)
- Scan cookbook pages and cards: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/news/2026/09/28/paprika-4-is-now-in-open-beta/)
- Meal plan: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)
- Grocery list: Recipe Keeper yes (https://recipekeeperonline.com/); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)
- Shared with a household: Recipe Keeper yes (https://recipekeeperonline.com/); Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/news/2026/09/28/paprika-4-is-now-in-open-beta/)
- Send the list to grocery delivery: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Pantry: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika yes (https://www.paprikaapp.com/help/ios/)
- Receipt scan: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- What can I make from what I have: Recipe Keeper partly (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika not found
- Cook mode: Recipe Keeper partly (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)
- Timers: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika yes (https://www.paprikaapp.com/help/ios/)
- Nutrition: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/help/ios/)
- Widgets: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/help/ios/)
- Live Activities: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Apple Watch: Recipe Keeper no (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)
- Siri and Shortcuts: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika partly (https://www.paprikaapp.com/help/ios/)
- Mac and iPad: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1315583175); Paprika yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222628)
- CarPlay: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika not found
- Android: Recipe Keeper yes (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tudorspan.recipekeeper&hl=en_US&gl=US); Paprika yes (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hindsightlabs.paprika.android.v3)
- Web app: Recipe Keeper not found; Paprika no (https://www.paprikaapp.com/)
- Free plan: Recipe Keeper yes (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711); Paprika partly (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/paprika-recipe-manager-3/id1303222868)

## Where Recipe Keeper is stronger

- Save from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube: Instagram and TikTok (website; App Store v3.41.x-3.42.0 notes). YouTube and Pinterest not named; videos can be added as links. Paprika: partly.
- Scan cookbook pages and cards: OCR scan from camera, photos and PDFs (cookbooks, magazines, handwritten). Paprika: partly.
- Shared with a household: Shared family recipe collection; share meal plan with family; sync across devices. Paprika: partly.
- Nutrition: Add nutrition information and search recipes by nutritional amounts. Paprika: partly.
- Widgets: Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets for recipes, shopping list and meal planner (v3.37.0). Paprika: partly.
- Free plan: Free download; iOS IAP 'Recipe Keeper Pro Upgrade' $19.99 (only IAP listed, no subscription); Mac App Store Pro Upgrade $29.99; separate purchase required for each platform (Android, Windows, Mac). Free-tier limits not stated on official pages. Paprika: partly.

## Where Paprika is stronger

- Pantry: Pantry tracks quantity, purchase date and expiration date. Recipe Keeper: not found.
- Cook mode: Keep screen on, cross off ingredients, highlight current step. Recipe Keeper: partly.
- Timers: Cook times auto-detected in directions; tap to start; fire even when app closed. Recipe Keeper: not found.
- Apple Watch: Watch app shows grocery lists and controls recipe timers; requires paired iPhone (watchOS 6+). Recipe Keeper: no.

## A third option: Saucepan

Saucepan is our app. It has ChatGPT and Claude connectors, MCP access for other AI apps, interactive cards in the chat, receipt scanning, recipes from what you have, Live Activities and Siri and Shortcuts actions, which neither Recipe Keeper nor Paprika shows on its own pages. It launches on November 13, 2026 and has no ratings yet. It is on iPhone for now. Android is coming soon. Free to use; Saucepan+ is $4.99 a month or $34.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial.

## Questions

### Is Recipe Keeper or Paprika better?
It depends on what you need. Recipe Keeper and Paprika both save recipes from websites, plan meals and build a grocery list. Pick Recipe Keeper if you want to pay once, you have family on Android or Windows, or you have a big backlog of paper recipes. Pick Paprika if you want to pay once, you cook with an Apple Watch or on Windows, or your library already lives in Paprika. Paprika 4 is in beta and says premium features will need a subscription afterwards.

### How much do Recipe Keeper and Paprika cost?
Recipe Keeper: Free download. Pro Upgrade is $19.99, once, on iPhone and iPad. The Mac version is $29.99. Each platform is a separate purchase. Paprika: iPhone and iPad $4.99, once. Mac $29.99. Each version is sold separately. Prices are US dollars from each app's own pages. Checked November 4, 2026.

### Which is free, Recipe Keeper or Paprika?
Recipe Keeper: yes. Free download; iOS IAP 'Recipe Keeper Pro Upgrade' $19.99 (only IAP listed, no subscription); Mac App Store Pro Upgrade $29.99; separate purchase required for each platform (Android, Windows, Mac). Free-tier limits not stated on official pages. Paprika: partly. iOS is a $4.99 one-time purchase. The Android version is free, limited to 50 recipes and no sync.

### Can Recipe Keeper or Paprika save recipes from Instagram and TikTok?
Recipe Keeper: yes. Instagram and TikTok (website; App Store v3.41.x-3.42.0 notes). YouTube and Pinterest not named; videos can be added as links. Paprika: partly. Only in Paprika 4 open beta (Sep 2026): TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, YouTube; not in shipping Paprika 3.

### Do Recipe Keeper and Paprika work on Android?
Recipe Keeper: yes. Google Play: com.tudorspan.recipekeeper (separate purchase). Paprika: yes. Paprika Recipe Manager 3 on Google Play (sold separately).

### Which has an Apple Watch app, Recipe Keeper or Paprika?
Recipe Keeper: no. Apple Watch not listed in App Store compatibility (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch only). Paprika: yes. Watch app shows grocery lists and controls recipe timers; requires paired iPhone (watchOS 6+).

### Can you use Recipe Keeper or Paprika in a web browser?
Recipe Keeper: not found on its own pages. Paprika: no. Official site offers native apps only (iOS, Android, Mac, Windows); bookmarklet sends recipes to Cloud Sync but no web app listed.

### Do Recipe Keeper or Paprika work with ChatGPT or Claude?
We found no ChatGPT or Claude connector from either app on its own pages.

### When were Recipe Keeper and Paprika last updated?
On the US App Store, Recipe Keeper is at version 3.46.2 (April 9, 2026) and Paprika at version 3.8.5 (July 16, 2026). Checked November 4, 2026.

### Can I export my recipes from Recipe Keeper?
Cookbooks export as a PDF with a cover page and table of contents. Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711
