Recipe Keeper vs Paprika

Recipe Keeper and Paprika both save recipes from websites, plan meals and build a grocery list. Pick Recipe Keeper if you want to pay once, you have family on Android or Windows, or you have a big backlog of paper recipes. Pick Paprika if you want to pay once, you cook with an Apple Watch or on Windows, or your library already lives in Paprika. Paprika 4 is in beta and says premium features will need a subscription afterwards.

At a glance

DetailRecipe KeeperPaprika
PriceFree download. Pro Upgrade is $19.99, once, on iPhone and iPad. The Mac version is $29.99. Each platform is a separate purchase.App StoreiPhone and iPad $4.99, once. Mac $29.99. Each version is sold separately.paprikaapp.com
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Android, Windows and Mac.recipekeeperonline.comiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac, Android and Windows.paprikaapp.com
Syncs throughSyncs across iPhone, iPad, Android, PC and Mac. Other platforms need their own purchase.recipekeeperonline.comPaprika Cloud Sync, its own account, for recipes, grocery lists and meal plans.paprikaapp.com
Saves fromHundreds of recipe websites, other recipe apps, and scanned cookbooks, handwritten recipes and PDFs with OCR.recipekeeperonline.comAny website, through its built-in browser and bookmarklet. Saving from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and YouTube is in the Paprika 4 open beta, not in Paprika 3.paprikaapp.com
Gets recipes outCookbooks export as a PDF with a cover page and table of contents.App StoreNot found on its own pages.
Last App Store updateVersion 3.46.2, April 9, 2026.App StoreVersion 3.8.5, July 16, 2026.App Store
Ratings4.8 stars from 31K ratingsApp Store4.9 stars from 54K ratingsApp Store

Feature by feature

Recipe Keeper vs Paprika, feature by feature
FeatureRecipe KeeperPaprika
AI assistants & MCP
Works in ChatGPTNot foundNot found
Works in ClaudeNot foundNot found
Other AI apps via MCPNot foundNot found
Interactive cards in the chatNot foundNot found
Saving
Save from Instagram, TikTok, YouTubeYesrecipekeeperonline.comPartlypaprikaapp.com
Save from websitesYesApp StoreYesApp Store
Scan cookbook pages and cardsYesApp StorePartlypaprikaapp.com
Planning & shopping
Meal planYesApp StoreYesApp Store
Grocery listYesrecipekeeperonline.comYesApp Store
Shared with a householdYesrecipekeeperonline.comPartlypaprikaapp.com
Send the list to grocery deliveryNot foundNot found
Kitchen
PantryNot foundYespaprikaapp.com
Receipt scanNot foundNot found
What can I make from what I havePartlyApp StoreNot found
Cook modePartlyApp StoreYesApp Store
TimersNot foundYespaprikaapp.com
NutritionYesApp StorePartlypaprikaapp.com
Apple extras
WidgetsYesApp StorePartlypaprikaapp.com
Live ActivitiesNot foundNot found
Apple WatchNoApp StoreYesApp Store
Siri and ShortcutsNot foundPartlypaprikaapp.com
Mac and iPadYesApp StoreYesApp Store
CarPlayNot foundNot found
Platforms & price
AndroidYesGoogle PlayYesGoogle Play
Web appNot foundNopaprikaapp.com
Free planYesApp StorePartlyApp Store

Tap a mark for the note. “Not found” means we looked on the app’s own pages and did not see it, not that it lacks it.

Where Recipe Keeper is stronger

  • Save from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube. Instagram and TikTok (website; App Store v3.41.x-3.42.0 notes). YouTube and Pinterest not named; videos can be added as links recipekeeperonline.com Paprika: partly. Only in Paprika 4 open beta (Sep 2026): TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, YouTube; not in shipping Paprika 3
  • Scan cookbook pages and cards. OCR scan from camera, photos and PDFs (cookbooks, magazines, handwritten) App Store Paprika: partly. Photo scanning of cookbook pages/recipe cards only in Paprika 4 open beta; not in Paprika 3 guide
  • Shared with a household. Shared family recipe collection; share meal plan with family; sync across devices recipekeeperonline.com Paprika: partly. Paprika 3: devices share one Cloud Sync account; separate family logins sharing recipes/lists/plans only in Paprika 4 beta
  • Nutrition. Add nutrition information and search recipes by nutritional amounts App Store Paprika: partly. Paprika 3: manual Nutritional Info field per recipe; automatic USDA-based nutrition analysis only in Paprika 4 beta
  • Widgets. Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets for recipes, shopping list and meal planner (v3.37.0) App Store Paprika: partly. Paprika 3 has a Today View widget showing today's meals; new grocery/meal planner widgets only in Paprika 4 beta
  • Free plan. Free download; iOS IAP 'Recipe Keeper Pro Upgrade' $19.99 (only IAP listed, no subscription); Mac App Store Pro Upgrade $29.99; separate purchase required for each platform (Android, Windows, Mac). Free-tier limits not stated on official pages App Store Paprika: partly. iOS is a $4.99 one-time purchase. The Android version is free, limited to 50 recipes and no sync.

Where Paprika is stronger

  • Pantry. Pantry tracks quantity, purchase date and expiration date paprikaapp.com Recipe Keeper: not found on its own pages
  • Cook mode. Keep screen on, cross off ingredients, highlight current step App Store Recipe Keeper: partly. Check off ingredients, highlight current direction, screen stays awake, adjustable text. Hands-free step-by-step only through Alexa
  • Timers. Cook times auto-detected in directions; tap to start; fire even when app closed paprikaapp.com Recipe Keeper: not found on its own pages
  • Apple Watch. Watch app shows grocery lists and controls recipe timers; requires paired iPhone (watchOS 6+) App Store Recipe Keeper: no. Apple Watch not listed in App Store compatibility (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch only)

A third option: Saucepan

Saucepan is our app. It has ChatGPT and Claude connectors, MCP access for other AI apps, interactive cards in the chat, receipt scanning, recipes from what you have, Live Activities and Siri and Shortcuts actions, which neither Recipe Keeper nor Paprika shows on its own pages.

What to know first: it launches on November 13, 2026, so it has no track record or ratings yet. It is on iPhone, and runs on iPad. Android is coming soon. Where Recipe Keeper or Paprika is ahead of it: an Apple Watch app, Mac and iPad apps and Android.

Questions

Is Recipe Keeper or Paprika better?

It depends on what you need. Recipe Keeper and Paprika both save recipes from websites, plan meals and build a grocery list. Pick Recipe Keeper if you want to pay once, you have family on Android or Windows, or you have a big backlog of paper recipes. Pick Paprika if you want to pay once, you cook with an Apple Watch or on Windows, or your library already lives in Paprika. Paprika 4 is in beta and says premium features will need a subscription afterwards.

How much do Recipe Keeper and Paprika cost?

Recipe Keeper: Free download. Pro Upgrade is $19.99, once, on iPhone and iPad. The Mac version is $29.99. Each platform is a separate purchase. Paprika: iPhone and iPad $4.99, once. Mac $29.99. Each version is sold separately. Prices are US dollars from each app's own pages. Checked November 4, 2026.

Which is free, Recipe Keeper or Paprika?

Recipe Keeper: yes. Free download; iOS IAP 'Recipe Keeper Pro Upgrade' $19.99 (only IAP listed, no subscription); Mac App Store Pro Upgrade $29.99; separate purchase required for each platform (Android, Windows, Mac). Free-tier limits not stated on official pages. Paprika: partly. iOS is a $4.99 one-time purchase. The Android version is free, limited to 50 recipes and no sync.

Can Recipe Keeper or Paprika save recipes from Instagram and TikTok?

Recipe Keeper: yes. Instagram and TikTok (website; App Store v3.41.x-3.42.0 notes). YouTube and Pinterest not named; videos can be added as links. Paprika: partly. Only in Paprika 4 open beta (Sep 2026): TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, YouTube; not in shipping Paprika 3.

Do Recipe Keeper and Paprika work on Android?

Recipe Keeper: yes. Google Play: com.tudorspan.recipekeeper (separate purchase). Paprika: yes. Paprika Recipe Manager 3 on Google Play (sold separately).

Which has an Apple Watch app, Recipe Keeper or Paprika?

Recipe Keeper: no. Apple Watch not listed in App Store compatibility (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch only). Paprika: yes. Watch app shows grocery lists and controls recipe timers; requires paired iPhone (watchOS 6+).

Can you use Recipe Keeper or Paprika in a web browser?

Recipe Keeper: not found on its own pages. Paprika: no. Official site offers native apps only (iOS, Android, Mac, Windows); bookmarklet sends recipes to Cloud Sync but no web app listed.

Do Recipe Keeper or Paprika work with ChatGPT or Claude?

We found no ChatGPT or Claude connector from either app on its own pages.

When were Recipe Keeper and Paprika last updated?

On the US App Store, Recipe Keeper is at version 3.46.2 (April 9, 2026) and Paprika at version 3.8.5 (July 16, 2026). Checked November 4, 2026.

Can I export my recipes from Recipe Keeper?

Cookbooks export as a PDF with a cover page and table of contents. Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/recipe-keeper/id974683711